Toguchi Lecture

Toguchi Lecture
October 9, 2018
Lecture begins at 5:30
Cene Lecture Hall, CAED Building, KSU

AIA and CSI members and guests are invited to Kent State University’s campus on Tuesday, October 9th to attend a this year’s Toguchi Lecture, presented by Billie Tsien. Titled “Practicing”, Tsien’s lecture will focus on built projects. There will be limited seating available in the Cene Lecture Hall- attendees are encouraged to arrive early. If seating is unavailable in the Cene Lecture Hall, seating will be available in classrooms throughout the CAED Building, with the lecture presented on screens in each room. AIA & CSI members and guests are invited to join the KSU community for a reception with heavy hors-d’oeuvres following the lecture in the CAED Building. There will be no formal dinner for AIA & CSI members and guests this year. The nearest parking deck is the Kent Central Gateway, located at 201 E. Erie Street, Kent Ohio 44240.

Lecture Description: Our earliest memories and influences help to establish a foundation for future thoughts on design. Over time as architects, we exercise our ideas into tangible form and continuously learn the value of our experience. Through a sequence of past and current projects, “Practicing” will demonstrate how the experience has honed our skills and continues to drive our design.
Lecture Learning Objectives:
  1. At the end of this lecture, participants will leave with a sense of how to conceptualize a project from an initial central thought to guide their design.
  2. This lecture will present ways of approaching a potential client with a portfolio of past built work and skills applied.
  3. This lecture will show how outside influences and references can inform a project from conception to execution.
  4. This lecture will present a body of work with varied building programs relaying the varying concerns of private, public and civic-minded architecture.

AIA members will receive 1 LU.

Registration closes October 4, 2018.
To receive credit for attending, attendees must sign in
at the AIA & CSI table, located near the entrance to the Cene Lecture Hall.

2018 Toguchi Lecture Presenter: BILLIE TSIEN

Located in New York City, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects|Partners (TWBTA) focuses on work for institutions including schools, museums, and not-for-profits. A sense of rootedness, light, texture, detail, and most of all experience, are at the heart of their architecture. Recent notable projects include The Barnes Foundation in Philadelphia, LeFrak Center at Lakeside in Prospect Park, Brooklyn, and the Asia Society Center in Hong Kong. TWBTA is currently designing The Obama Presidential Center in Chicago. Over the past three decades, the firm has received numerous national and international citations, including the 2013 Firm Award from the American Institute of Architects and the National Medal of the Arts from President Obama.

Billie Tsien, was born in Ithaca, NY and received her undergraduate degree in Fine Arts from Yale University and her Master of Architecture degree from UCLA. In 1986, she co-founded TWBTA with Tod Williams. Billie is deeply involved in prominent cultural communities and maintains long-standing associations with many organizations devoted to the arts. She is currently President of the Academy of Arts and Letters, a Fellow of the American Academy in Rome, and has been inducted into the National Academy of Design, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society among others. In parallel with her practice, Billie also maintains an active academic career and lectures worldwide. As both an educator and practitioner, she is committed to making a better world through architecture.

2018 Toguchi Lecture Sponsor:

Toguchi Lecture Historical Information

September 8, 2015: Kevin Daly, Case Studies in the Architecture of Sustainable and Performative Urbanism: The Work of Kevin Daly ArchitectsPast Speakers:

September 2, 2014: Roberto de Leon & Ross Primmer, Partners, De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop

September 3, 2013: James P. Cramer, Founder of Greenway Group,  founding editor, and publisher of Design Intelligence and Almanac of Architecture & Design

September 4, 2012: Tim Culvahouse, FAIA, Editor-in-Chief of AIA California Council and past Board Member of Public Architecture

September 6, 2011: Peter Bohlin, FAIA is an American architect and the winner of the 2010 Gold Medal of the American Institute of Architects. He is a founding principal of the Architectural firm Bohlin Cywinski Jackson.

Fred S. Toguchi, FAIA, (b.1922–d.1982)
The Toguchi Memorial Lecture Series was established in 1984 at Kent State University to promote the study and art of architecture.